UC Davis Symphony Orchestra: Bartók - Bluebeard's Castle

2/13/2012; 68 minutes

Bartók's only opera, "Bluebeard's Castle," is based on the fairy tale of the same name (by Charles Perrault). The stage is set with seven doors of Bluebeard's Castle, and behind each is a different room. Bluebeard's wife, Judith, is introduced into the castle and, one by one, she opens each door in order to bring light into the castle—instead each reveals another dark secret about her husband. Gregory Stapp, bass (Duke Bluebeard); Jessica Medoff, soprano (Judith); Peter Lichtenfels, & Bella Merlin, co-directors; John Iacovelli, stage and costume designer; Thomas Munn, lighting designer; Christian Baldini, conductor. (#21047)

Like what you learn?

Donate to UCSD-TV to support informative & inspiring programming.

Links & Resources

More Programs With


Subscribe to receive email notifications about featured videos.
(c)2020 Regents of the University of California. All right reserved. Terms and Conditions of Use.